At its Regular Meeting on Tuesday, December 11, 2018, the Ojai City Council voted to adopt an ordinance changing the City’s electoral code to transition from an at-large election system to a district-based election system, pursuant to Elections Code Section 10010 and the California Voting Rights Act. It further voted to establish district boundaries and released a district-based election map delineating the boundaries for the four districts.

A district-based electoral system is one in which a city is divided into separate districts, each with one Council Member who resided in the district and is chosen by the voters residing in that district. In a district-based electoral system, voters within each district may only vote for one candidate every four years. The system in Ojai will have four City Council districts and a Mayor elected at-large.

The transition to a district-based system will commence with the November 2020 General Municipal Election for District 4. At that election, voters in that district will elect a member of the City Council for a four-year term. At the following General Municipal Election in 2022, voters in districts 1, 2 and 3 will each elect Council Members for four-year terms.

To download a pdf map showing the four districts, click here.

To be re-directed to a detailed, interactive copy of the map, click here and select map 101b.