Boundary Map Selected for City of Ojai Transition to District-based Electoral System

At its Regular Meeting on Tuesday, December 11, 2018, the Ojai City Council voted to adopt Ordinance 899, changing the City’s electoral code to transition from an at-large election system to a district-based election system,  pursuant to Elections Code Section 10010 and the California Voting Rights Act. It further voted to establish district boundaries and released a district-based election map delineating the boundaries for the four districts.

A district-based electoral system is one in which a city is divided into separate districts, each with one Council Member who resided in the district and is chosen by the voters residing in that district. In a district-based electoral system, voters within each district may only vote for one candidate every four years. The system in Ojai will have four City Council districts and a Mayor elected at-large.


The transition to a district-based system commenced with the November 2020 General Municipal Election for District 4. At that election, voters in that district elected Council Member Suza Francina for a four-year term representing District 4. At the upcoming General Municipal Election in 2022, voters in districts 1, 2 and 3 will each elect Council Members for four-year terms. 

The district for each Council member is as follows: District 1: Ryan Blatz; District 2: Randy Haney; District 3: William Weirick; District 4: Suza Francina.

Note that until the 2022 General Municipal Election, when their terms expire, Council Members Blatz, Haney and Weirick are at this time considered at-wide Council Members.

To download a pdf map showing the four districts, click here.

To be re-directed to a detailed, interactive copy of the map, click here and select map 101b.